News Code: 2100 2017/12/2 07:00 Views : 3346

What is the Mustafa Award and how does MCI support it?

According to the General Directorate of Communications of Iran’s Mobile Communications Company (MCI)

What is the Mustafa Award and how does MCI support it?

According to the General Directorate of Communications of Iran’s Mobile Communications Company (MCI), the second anniversary of “Mustafa Award” ceremony is being held on ۳rd of December in Tehran and MCI is the main sponsor of this worthy award.

MCI as the biggest mobile phone operator in the Middle East, by fulfilling its social responsibilities has always supported knowledge and technology development and supporting the Mustafa (pbuh) Award is for this purpose.

The “Mustafa Award” is not the only major event sponsored by MCI. The long list of brilliant MCI sponsorships from sports clubs and international sports competitions to startups and technology projects, academic and science competitions, charities, and cultural events proves this fact. However, supporting the “Mustafa Award” is undoubtedly one of the most worthwhile MCI sponsorships.

What is the Mustafa Award?

The Mustafa Award is a biennial science event in which the most prominent activities of Muslim scientist and researchers are evaluated and the winners will be awarded five hundred thousand dollars.

How much is the amount of Mustafa Award?

Mustafa Award has one of the highest financial values among the world’s top scientific awards. The Mustafa Award is $۵۰۰,۰۰۰ for each of the four contest categories, totaling two million dollars – if referees believe at least one scholar qualifies to receive the Mustafa Award in each category.
While it is supported by many Iranian public organizations, The Mustafa Award is funded by private endowments not public funds.

Scientific endowment has a long history in Muslim countries especially Iran. There are many libraries, schools, universities and events funded by donation of charitable people and private companies. Mustafa Award was planned in ۲۰۱۲, hoping to revive this tradition, and was held in ۲۰۱۵ for the first time. Now, after two years, we are witnessing the second edition of this Award.
This award is named Mustafa after the holy Islam Prophet Muhammad Mustafa (Peace be upon him) for his concerns on obtaining knowledge.
The four categories of Mustafa Award are:

۱.The Information and Communication Science and Technologies
۲.Life Sciences and Medical Sciences
۳.Nano Science and Nanotechnologies
۴.Top Scientific Achievement in other fields

For the first three categories, the nominees should be citizens of one of the ۵۷ Muslim countries. For the last category, Only Muslims may be nominated with no restrictions on citizenship.
The main goal of Mustafa Award is to encourage Muslim scholars to focus their activities on state of the art research.
Despite their high population, brilliant background and individual and social capabilities, Muslims have failed to conquer many peaks in science and technology in recent centuries. Mustafa Award is an invaluable attempt to appreciate the scholars with credible achievements in science and technology. Hence, the Award is known as the Islamic Nobel, and is the most valuable scientific award of the Muslim World. How great is the fact that Iran, with its historic role as the pioneer of science in the Muslim World, is the creator of this Award.
“It is important to hold this award for the scientific development of Muslim countries.” said Iran’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mohammad Jawad Zarif, during ۲۰۱۵ award ceremony. “The Mustafa Award (peace be upon him) aims at enhancing Muslim world scientific position, and I hope that all the Muslim countries, together, pave the way for realizing this goal, and we witness the high scientific status of Muslims and reviving our scientific Golden Age.”

The winners of the first Mustafa Award

Two scholars received the Mustafa Award in ۲۰۱۵: Prof. Jackie Ying, Founding Executive Director of the Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology from Singapore, and Prof. Omar Yaghi from Jordan, Co-Director of the Kavli Energy NanoScience Institute, and Senior Faculty Scientist at Berkeley University. They won the Mustafa Award (pbuh) for the fields of “Life Sciences and Medical Sciences” and “Nano Science and Nanotechnologies” respectively.
The second edition of this Award is being held on ۳rd of December at the Vahdat Hall of Tehran.

Email :
Security Code :